Shopping Cart
Daybreak: Fáinne an Lae

Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh is best known for her work with Irish super-group Danú - recent recipients of the BBC Folk Music award for Best Band and a group considered by many to be the most significant new traditional band in Ireland. This exciting and eclectic 12-track collection showcases Muireann’s sparkling vocal talent, along with her consummate artistry on both flute and whistle. Most of all, it casts light on her intuitive ability to research and tastefully select from both the traditional and contemporary music repertory, re-interpreting and delivering her chosen songs and tunes with heart-warming eloquence. Stand out tracks include her rendition of Gerry O’Beirne’s "Western Highway", the traditional standard "The Parting Glass" and an unforgettable cover of Richard Thompson and Tim Finn’s song, "Persuasion."

Featuring: Oisín McAuley, John Doyle, Gerry O’Beirne, Shane McGowan, Éamonn Doorley, Tony Byrne, Julie Fowlis and Billy Mag Fhloinn.


"The balance Nic Amhlaoibh achieves, armed with one of the earthiest and most distinctive voices, not just in traditional circles, but anywhere." - Siobhán Long, The Irish Times

Daybreak: Fáinne an Lae

Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh

MP3/320 $10.00
FLAC $12.00
WAV $12.00
CD $15.00

Track Listing

Western Highway
Free and Easy
Seoithín Seothó
Cnocán an Teampaill
Slán le Máigh
Isle of Malachy
An Spealadóir
The Emigrant's Farewell
Humours of Whiskey
Banks of the Nile
The Parting Glass