Shopping Cart
Cold Spell

2015 GRAMMY Best Bluegrass Album Nominee!

With special guests Leon Alexander, Sam Bush, John Cowan, Rob Ickes and Megan McCormick.

Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen are the next big thing on the bluegrass circuit. Fronted by mandolinist, singer and songwriter Frank Solivan, the band has been nominated several years in a row for the International Bluegrass Music Association’s Emerging Artist of the Year award and their current tour schedule includes some of the most important tastemaker festivals in the roots music world. Their new album COLD SPELL will solidify their position as torchbearers for the new generation of progressive bands taking bluegrass from its traditional roots to a younger and broader audience.
The album’s ten tracks show just how far the traditional bluegrass instrumentation of banjo, mandolin, guitar and acoustic bass can go in the right hands. From the evocative opening track “Say It Isn’t So,” through the bluesy “No Life in this Town” to the future jam grass anthem “She Said She Will” (featuring Solivan’s bluesy tenor vocals and a jaw dropping banjo performance from Mike Munford, International Bluegrass Music Association’s reigning Banjo Player of the Year), Frank Solivan and his bandmates (Munford, guitarist Chris Luquette and bassman Danny Booth) take their brand of bluegrass through the paces proving track after track that bluegrass can rock and groove. With special guests Leon Alexander, Sam Bush, John Cowan, Rob Ickes and Megan McCormick.

“Ranked among the “buzz” bluegrass bands…a razor sharp, confident quartet.” —Bluegrass Unlimited
“This newgrass/bluegrass foursome spirals through skin-tight banjo picking, razor-sharp mandolin and jazz-tinged concentric circles – all with a degree of control that balances technical precision and improvisational virtuosity.” —The Irish Times
“…tight harmonies, strong songwriting, and deft picking…” —Engine 145



MP3/320 $10.00
FLAC $12.00
WAV $12.00
CD $15.00

Track Listing

Say It Isn’t So (with Megan McCormick and Rob Ickes)
No Life In This Town (with John Cowan)
She Said She Will (with Leon Alexander)
Cold Spell (with Rob Ickes)
Yeah Man (with Rob Ickes)
Better (Days Go By)
Country Song
Betrayal (with Rob Ickes)
Chief Taghkanic
Missing You (with Sam Bush, John Cowan, and Rob Ickes)