Shopping Cart
Blackbird (Single)

Special Consensus steps out on their brand-new single “Blackbird,”the first new music from the band since their award-winning 2020 release Chicago Barn Dance. Joining band leader/banjo player Greg Cahill and bassist Dan Eubanks are the two newest members of Special Consensus: Greg Blake (guitar, lead vocals) and Michael Prewitt (mandolin, harmony vocals). Rounding out this up-beat rendition of Cape Breton native JP Cormier’s neo-bluegrass classic are special guests Rob Ickes on Dobro, Dale Ann Bradley and Amanda Smith on harmony vocals and the track’s producer Alison Brown on banjo. 

Greg Blake’s warm, inviting vocals shine throughout, anchored by Eubank’s upright bass and complemented by Bradley and Smith’s gorgeous harmonies, leaving little doubt why the two are among the most lauded female singers in bluegrass music. Brown joins Ickes, Prewitt and Cahill for some instrumental fun and twin banjo escapades in the expanded outro.

Cahill comments: I am so excited to showcase the vocal and instrumental talents of our new band members, Greg and Michael, on this single. “Blackbird” will give our fans an introduction to Special C’s new sound as well as a sense of the fun we’re having working on our 21st band album. We are thoroughly enjoying making music together, on the road and in the studio, and I think we really captured that fresh energy on the new single. 

Brown adds: I’ve been privileged to produce the last five Special Consensus records and, no matter the lineup, it’s always been great fun collaborating with the guys and seeing what ideas we can come up with together in the studio.  I’ve loved JP’s song “Blackbird” for many years and it was a pleasure to bring it to life Special C style, augmented by the contributions of a few of our favorite pickers and singers.

"Blackbird" is the first single from Special Consensus’ upcoming studio project currently slated for release in early 2023 on Compass Records.  

Blackbird (Single)

Special Consensus

MP3/320 $1.00
FLAC $1.20
WAV $1.20
WAV-HD $1.70
FLAC-HD $1.70

Track Listing