Shopping Cart
Lower Reaches

Justin Currie, Del Amitri's frontman and main songwriter, has sharpened his pop hooks and topped off the vinegar in his veins for his 3rd solo album Lower Reaches, out April 15th. Recorded in Austin, Texas, with producer Mike McCarthy (Craig Finn of The Hold Steady), Spoon, Patty Griffin, …And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of The Dead), the album features stories of love and loss with a magical mix of the Scottish songwriter’s bittersweet poetry and soulful vocals, especially on the ironically upbeat radio single “Bend to My Will” and the folky and reflective “Little Stars.”
As singer and main songwriter in Del Amitri, formed in Glasgow in 1983, Justin Currie wrote many of their biggest hits including “Roll To Me,” “Always The Last To Know,” and “Nothing Ever Happens.” During their long and distinguished career, Del Amitri released four Top 10 albums, including Waking Hours (1989), which sold over a million copies in the UK alone. Currie released his first solo album What is Love For in 2007, following with The Great War in 2010.

“Currie has been doing his particular thing—and brilliantly so—for over two decades now…fired, as always, by Currie’s finely spun melodies, expertly placed hooks and ironically warm vocals. —New York Daily News
“Currie’s old-school craftsmanship is rigorously solid, and his lyrics considered and honed…delivered with intelligence and sincerity.” —BBC Music

CD includes bonus tracks "Guess" and "London is Dead" not available digitally.

Lower Reaches

Justin Currie

MP3/320 $10.00
FLAC $12.00
WAV $12.00
CD $15.00

Track Listing

Every Song's the Same
Bend to My Will
I Hate Myself for Loving You
On a Roll
Into a Pearl
On My Conscience
Half of Me
Little Stars