Shopping Cart
Great Blue North

Chicago-based bluegrass outfit Special Consensus has covered a lot of musical territory in the nearly half a century since banjoist Greg Cahill founded the band in 1975. Two-time GRAMMY nominees and six-time International Bluegrass Music Association winners, the group has amassed an expansive discography of over 20 releases including 2020’s CHICAGO BARN DANCE which highlighted the important role the Windy City played in the early development of bluegrass music.

With their new release GREAT BLUE NORTH, Special Consensus turns their gaze northward, across the great lakes, to Canada. The album offers a thoughtfully curated collection of well-known and obscure songs from Canadian writers and features collaborations with some Canada’s most notable bluegrass and folk musicians. Band leader Greg Cahill comments: “Special Consensus has toured regularly in Canada since our earliest days and counts many great Canadian bluegrass players and singers among our musical friends. After we released “Blackbird”, penned by Cape Breton-based J.P. Cormier, as a single last year we began to think that recording an album of all Canadian songs would be a great way to tip our hats to the immense talent in the Canadian bluegrass community.  Getting to collaborate with some of our northern friends on the project was the icing on the cake.”

GREAT BLUE NORTH kicks off with a smooth-grass version of the classic “Snowbird,” featuring Special Consensus’ newest member, lead singer and guitarist Greg Blake, together with the crystalline vocal harmonies of Claire Lynch, an Alabama-raised and newly-minted Canadian who now calls Toronto home. The band chose a gem from Ontario-based Dave Francey called “Highway 95” to showcase their new mandolin player Michael Prewitt on lead vocals and invited frequent Special Consensus collaborator Rob Ickes to guest on resophonic guitar. They also offer two songs from Gordon Lightfoot’s catalog, “Brave Mountaineers” and the anthemic “Alberta Bound,” which serves as a thematic center piece for the record as well as the lead single. Special Consensus’s version of the Lightfoot classic is powered by New Brunswick fiddler Ray Legere, and features an impressive array of Canadian vocal talent, including Patrick Sauber, Trisha Gagnon and John Reischman (The Jaybird Trio), and Pharis & Jason Romero trading lead vocals with Michael Prewitt.

Great Blue North

Special Consensus

MP3/320 $10.00
FLAC $12.00
WAV $12.00
WAV-HD $17.00
CD $16.00

Track Listing

Highway 95
Don't You Try To Change My Mind
Alberta Bound
Mighty Trucks of Midnight
Pretty Kate And The Rabbit
Brave Mountaineers
The Jaybird Song
Time Wanders On