Shopping Cart

No Depression, Vision: Winter 2019

Regular price $18.00

No Depression started its life as a quarterly print magazine in 1995, fueled by its founding editors’ passion for alt-country music and long-form journalism. Over the course of its first print run, it helped solidify the importance of Americana and roots music on the national stage. In the years since, No Depression has developed a robust web publication, publishing long features, honest criticism, and weekly columns in addition to its wealth of community-driven content. In 2015, to celebrate the publication’s 20th anniversary, the FreshGrass Foundation brought it back to print as a high-end, ad-free, quarterly journal focused once again on long-form music journalism.

No Depression takes a more visual approach to understanding roots music in the Winter 2019 issue. Even though music is primarily an auditory experience, there are so many visual elements that go into presenting, performing, consuming, and engaging with this particular art form. Through No Depression’s exceptional print medium, the issue highlights the photos, comics, graphics, non-traditional band merchandise, and more that help both musicians and fans see new ideas through the sounds.

Included in this issue:

    • Jeff Buckley
    • Scott Avett
    • Rebecca Loebe
    • The Mountain Goats
    • Andrew Combs
    • North Mississippi Allstars
    • Orville Peck
    • Elvis Presley
    • Kaia Kater
    • Mary Gauthier
    • Yola
    • Lillie Mae

    ... And so much more!


    • Original design by Marcus Amaker
    • Original cover art by Nicole Atkins
    • Original illustrations by Dylan Goldberger